Monday, March 9, 2015

Fulton Science Academy Science Olympiad Team Best at Regionals!

It was a sweet victory for the Fulton Science Academy Private School Science Olympiad Team as they won first place in the Regional Tournament held on Valentine’s Day at the University of North Georgia Gainesville Campus. Competition at the tournament was tough as FSAPS was up against perennial rival Dodgen Middle School. “Our students always enjoy competing against Dodgen,” said Head Coach Pam Walsh. “They are such a strong team and our students know they’ve got to be at their best.” The awards ceremony was intense as the lead switch from FSAPS to Dodgen several times, but in the end, FSAPS won by 8 points.

 The top five schools from the tournament will advance to the State Science Olympiad Tournament in March, so FSAPS will be up against Dodgen once again. “We’ve got our work cut out for us to prepare for the State Tournament,” said Walsh. “We know Dodgen and the other teams will be working hard and the competition will only get tougher.” The team’s goal is to qualify for the National Science Olympiad Tournament to be held at the University of Nebraska. Only the top two teams in Georgia will advance.

Individual awards were earned by the following students:

Air Trajectorycoached by Ms. Tang
1st Place – Simon Wang and Akash Bhatt

Anatomycoached by Ms Doraiswami
4th Place –Araneesh Pratap and Sanjeev Uppaluri

Bio Process Labcoached by Mrs. Uppaluri
2nd Place – Brian Shoffeitt and Elaine Wen

Bottle Rocketscoached by Mr. Seker
1st Place – Maryam Unal and Saad Maan
2nd Place – Sarah Lucas and Ananya Terala

Bridgescoached by Mr. Seker
3rd Place – Faith Lucas and Elaine Wen
4th Place – Ethan Gardner and Pranav Madadi

Can’t Judge a Powdercoached by Ms. Lang
3rd Place – Hasan Unal and Sarah Lucas

Crave the Wavecoached by Mr. Wang
2nd Place – Simon Wang and Brian Shoffeitt

Crime Busterscoached by Ms. Lang
2nd Place – Sarah Lucas and Hasan Unal
4th Place – Maryam Unal and Soleil Moffitt

Disease Detectivescoached by Mrs. Bhatt and Ms. Chirumamilla
1st Place – Brian Shoffeitt and Akash Bhatt

Dynamic Planetcoached by Mrs. Walsh
1st Place – Mira Mutnick and Sanjeev Uppaluri
3rd Place – Christina Wang and Sophie Richardson

Elastic Launch Glidercoached by Mrs. Walsh
4th Place – Shreya Puvvula and Shivani Naraharishetty

Entomologycoached by Mrs. Butler
3rd Place – Soleil Moffitt and Will Mutsch

Experimental Designcoached by Mrs. Stathos
2nd Place – Simon Wang, Mira Mutnick, and Ananya Terala
3rd Place – Sophie Richardson, Maryam Unal, and Shreya Puvvula
4th Place – Karen Pederson, Ameya Rekapalli, and Sruthi Chatrathi

Fossilscoached by Ms. Beres
2nd Place – Araneesh Pratap and Faith Lucas
4th Place – Callie Webster and Will Mutsch

Green Generationcoached by Ms. Larson
1st Place – Faith Lucas and Elaine Wen
2nd Place –Christina Wang and Sparsh Kudrimoti

Meteorologycoached by Mrs. Walsh
2nd Place – Araneesh Pratap and Ananya Terala
3rd Place – Neha Marupudi and Chance Crigler

Picture Thiscoached by Ms. Fichter
1st Place – Elaine Wen, Sarah Lucas, and Sanjeev Uppaluri
3rd Place – Christina Wang, Avinash Pratap, and Katherine Li

Road Scholarcoached by Mrs. Stathos
3rd Place – Mira Mutnick and Karuna Kumar

Robo-Crosscoached by Mr. Kaya
2nd Place – Mira Mutnick and Hasan Unal
4th Place – Sruthi Chatrathi and Destiny Abbey

Simple Machinescoached by Ms. Duzyol
1st Place – Karuna Kumar and Brian Shoffeitt
2nd Place – Vihan Karnala and Ethan Gardner
3rd Place – Katherine Li and Avinash Pratap

Solar Systemcoached by Mrs. Walsh
2nd Place –Araneesh Pratap and Andre Hamelberg

Wheeled Vehiclecoached by Mr. Seker
1st Place – Andre Hamelberg and Akash Bhatt
2nd Place – Saad Maan and Arul Selvakumar

Write It, Do It coached by Mrs. Stathos
1st Place – Mira Mutnick and Karuna Kumar

2nd Place – Katherine Li and Christina Wang

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thank you for your comments!