Monday, February 11, 2013

Fulton Science Academy Won 2nd Place at Regional Science Olympiad

In its first year as a private school, Fulton Science Academy’s Science Olympiad Team placed second at the Regional Tournament held at the University of North Georgia in Oakwood on Saturday, February 9. The team will now advance to the State Tournament to be held March 16 at Southern Polytechnic State University in Marietta. 
Head Coaches Pam Walsh and Gloria Stathos expected tough competition at the tournament and were pleased with the team’s performance. “We placed in the top ten in 23 out of 24 events,” said Mrs. Walsh.  “In addition, our B team, composed of less-experienced Science Olympiad students, placed 7th of the 24 teams, beating teams from Trickum, Chamblee, and Dickerson middle schools. The B team’s success is a good indicator of our future potential,” she explained.
Individual awards were earned by the following students:

Anatomy – coached by Mrs. Ambari
5th Place Hasan Unal and Nuri Ozer

Boomilever – coached by Mr. Seker
2nd Place Beyza Akun and Brian Shoffeit
5th Place Katherine Li and Milton Walker

Crime Busters – coached by Mrs. Kasani
10th Place J. J. Lu and Vikram Ruppa-Kasani

Disease Detectives – coached by Mrs. Lewis
2nd Place Suraj Chatrithi and Nadir Lewis
9th Place Calvin Owens and Sree Sanku

Dynamic Planet – coached by Mrs. Walsh
6th Place Maryam Unal and Faith Lucas
8th Place Lilly Webster and Aditya Chouhardi

Experimental Design – coached by Mrs. Stathos
1st Place – J. J. Lu, Hasan Unal, and Sule Anik

Food Science – coached by Mrs. Deeb
3rd Place – Susanne Deeb and Nadir Lewis
9th Place – Calvin Owens and Sree Sanku

Forestry – coached by Mrs. Butler
1st Place – Lilly Webster and Aditya Chouhardi
4th Place – Ananya Terala and Aditi Tekkam

Helicopters – coached by Mrs. Walsh
1st Place Faith Lucas and Maryam Unal
3rd Place Nadir Lewis and Susanne Deeb

Heredity – coached by Ms. Doraiswami
4th Place – Araneesh Pratap
5th Place – Calvin Owens and Sree Sanku

Keep the Heat – coached by Mr. Near
1st Place – Araneesh Pratap and Hasan Unal
8th Place – Jennifer Near and Simon Wang

Meteorology – coached by Mr. Ambardekar
1st Place – Lilly Webster and Aditya Chouhardi
3rd Place – Neel Ambardekar and Ananya Terala

Metric Mastery – coached by Ms. Fichter
5th Place – Araneesh Pratap and Vikram Ruppa-Kasani

Mission Possible – coached by Mr. Seker
2nd Place – Beyza Akgun and Sule Anik

Mousetrap Vehicle – coached by Mr. Vazquez
5th Place Neel Ambardekar and Sree Sanku
9th Place – Sule Anik and Nadir Lewis

Reach for the Stars – coached by Mrs. Walsh
1st Place – Araneesh Pratap and Aditya Chouhardi
9th Place – Maryam Unal and Simon Wang

Road Scholar – coached by Mrs. Stathos
1st Place – J. J. Lu and Suraj Chatrithi
6th Place – Neel Ambardekar

Rocks and Minerals – coached by Mrs. Walsh
1st Place – Lilly Webster and Brian Shoffeit
3rd Place – Callie Webster and Katherine Li

Shock Value – coached by Mr. Wang
2nd Place – Simon Wang and Jennifer Near
4th Place – Araneesh Pratap and Brian Shoffeit

Sounds of Music – coached by Mrs. Stathos
6th Place – Callie Webster and Katherine Li
7th Place – Beyza Akgun and J. J. Lu

Water Quality – coached by Mrs. Butler
5th Place – Nuri Ozer and Sule Anik

Write It, Do It – coached by Mrs. Stathos
8th Place – Callie Webster and Katherine Li
9th Place – Suraj Chatrithi and Beyza Akgun

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thank you for your comments!